Now Hiring: Personal Assistant (NYC)
🚨

Now Hiring: Personal Assistant (NYC)

Location: NYC

Compensation: $20-$30/hr

Hours: 5-10/week to start

Timeline: Immediate

Hi, I’m Ty! I am the founder and CEO of Cantilever, a web design & development consultancy, and a fractional executive with Element451, an EdTech startup. I’m a volunteer, political advocate, and the father of two wonderful kids. My mission is to be a good steward of my family, community, and the world using service and hospitality.

image

I am looking for a fantastic Personal Assistant based in NYC to help handle all of the little (and big) things that take up my time, so I can focus and have a bigger effect on the world.

💪 Your Mission

Help me make a difference by unlocking my time and energy for the most important work I have.

📍 Location

I live in Washington Heights, NYC and you will probably need to be on-site at least once a week, with other errands around the city. Lots of the work can be done remotely though.

✅ Duties

Errands

  • Shopping
  • Sending/retrieving packages
  • Dry cleaning
  • Taking car to garage and car wash
  • Buying home supplies

Travel

  • Help coordinate travel for me and my colleagues
  • Occasionally, go on longer trips with me and take care of the logistics and driving so I can focus

PA Duties

  • Help set up appointments for me & family
  • Help manage my calendar (both work and personal) and coordinate events
  • Perform online research to find service providers and products, make purchases
  • Order and pick up food
  • Help process mail and paperwork
  • Light social media management and posting coordination
  • Light paperwork & computer tasks

Politics

  • Help me set up and run events to support political candidates
  • Help me conduct advocacy work such as collecting signatures on petitions and creating digital content to promote important causes

Home

  • Help keep the house tidy and organized
  • Handle dishes
  • Manage service providers in the house (construction, cleaners, etc) and make sure they have access and are given what they need
  • Help with small projects around the house, like organizing closets, digitizing records, taking items to be donated, moving furniture around, and things like that

Kids

  • Light childcare
  • Occasional driving the kids to activities or school in NJ
  • Help with pickups and dropoffs

Choose Your Own Adventure

Beyond the stuff that I need, I want to help you move towards whatever you are passionate about learning. Photography? Writing? Coding? Finance? I will work with you to find a way to use your skills and help you grow as a part of your job with me.

📆 Schedule

Initially we can start with 5-10 hours hours a week, which can be flexible based on your schedule. Mornings, afternoons, or a combination are fine. Some days can be longer and some shorter. Some work will be at my house in Washington Heights so you should be in NYC or willing to travel in.

Over time we hope that your responsibilities, hours, and compensation can all grow. If you think you’re a good fit but are looking for full-time work, please reach out anyway. It might be possible for the right candidate!

👍 Qualifications

You should...

  • Have a heart for service. Helping others should bring you fulfillment.
  • Care about making the world a better place
  • Have a knack for getting things taken care of so that nobody notices that there was ever a problem
  • Be interested in learning and growing and trying new things
  • Be able to handle a wide range of tasks well, without needing assistance
  • Be detail-oriented and devoted to accuracy
  • Communicate clearly and speak confidently
  • Ideally, have a drivers license. You do not need to have a car, you can use mine for most work things. This is not a dealbreaker though!

💰 Compensation

This is an hourly contract role with my LLC that could grow into a full-time employment relationship over time.

I am open to a rate between $20 and $30/hr depending on your experience and capabilities.

If you use your own car for doing work tasks, I will reimburse you at standard IRS mileage rates for gas, wear and tear, etc with additional reimbursement for tolls.

Beyond direct compensation, I would like to help you with any advice, mentorship, and guidance I may be able to provide, whether you are interested in the tech/design world or not!

👉 How to Apply

Please email [email protected] with the subject line “I’m interested in your Personal Assistant role!”

Please include:

  • A description of your past work experience, with relevant links so I can learn about you
  • A few of your passions in life
  • Your desired compensation (knowing this is something we will finalize during the process)

Thank you!